Twisted & Turned

Twisted and turned, first in one direction then the other, that is how you wring out a wash cloth.  Squeeze and turn as hard as you can and the water drips out, until you are left with a damp cloth.  That is how I feel on days when anxiety is high, I’m low from depression, and all my senses are in a heightened state from PTSD and panic.  From head to toe I feel like I’m being twisted and turned.

There is a sadness that underlies and amplifies these emotions and symptoms.  As I rive in pain, both physical and mental, from all the overwhelming emotions twisting and turning inside me,  the only release is the tears that fall; water from the wringing.  It leaves me as tired as that old damp cloth.

 

8 thoughts on “Twisted & Turned

Leave a Reply

